Recreating wandb plots with matplotlib/seaborn

I have been using w&b for a few months and have had a great experience with it. However, I have had some trouble with including the diagram in my report. Under *more actions > export panel … * there exist options for exporting the panel to PNG, SVG, PDF, and CSV. I want to export the panel to PDF with vectorized graphics and text but the PDF export seems to simply render the panel to PNG.

What I have tried:

• exporting to SVG, but I was not able to convert this format to pdf or any other format suitable for my LaTeX report. I have been unable to use SVG files in my LaTeX report directly.
  • creating a report of the panel and downloading the report as LaTeX, but again it renders the plots as PNG which is not desired in my case.

Perhaps I am missing something, but as a final resort I have tried recreating the plots in wandb with the Export API in the following code snippet:

import wandb
import pandas as pd 
import seaborn as sns
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt

api = wandb.Api()

# Project is specified by <entity/project-name>
runs = api.runs("<wandb-id>/<entity-project-name>")
hist_list = [] 
for run in runs: 
    if not 'val/loss' in run.summary:
        continue

name = run.config['model']['_target_'].split('.')[-1]
    hist = run.history(keys=['epoch', 'val/loss'])
    hist['name'] = name
    hist_list.append(hist)

df = pd.concat(hist_list, ignore_index=True)
df = df.query("`val/loss` != 'NaN'")

sns.lineplot(x="epoch", y="val/loss", hue="name", data=df)
plt.show()

The script takes a long time to run (10 seconds) and comparing the output with the panel in the w&b dashboard we have the following two plots

The two plots have a noticeable difference. So I have two questions:

• Is it possible to export a panel to pdf with selectable text?
  • If not, is there any reference for recreating the plots in wandb?

Any help is appreciated :slight_smile:

EDIT