Agent build docker image failing to find file paths

Hi, I’m fairly new to using wandb and have chosen it for it’s great documentation! However, one area that has been confusing to me is using an agent to build a docker image.

Currently I’m logging my source code and files to wandb using run.log_code() outlined in the python SDK here. At this point my plans are to have the agent computer download the files logged, compile it into a docker image, and execute the training.

Where I’m confused is how to instruct the agent computer to download the logged files. With regards to the wandb docs, all I’m instructed to do is “add docker as a builder type”. When ran, docker on the agent computer fails to build the docker image because it “cannot find the file paths specified” in the docker file. Based on this error and how fast docker claims to have downloaded all the artifacts from wandb, I’m unsure if the logged files are being downloaded in the first place.

I’d appreciate any insight, examples, or advice! I’m very confused as to where to go from here as I’ve exhausted the wandb docs. Thanks!

Hi @19kdc3 , thank you for reaching out and happy to help. Will review your question and circle back this week.

1 Like

Hi @19kdc3 , following back up on this thread. I’ve had a chance to review and have the following feedback

It sounds like you’re trying to integrate several components of the W&B ecosystem: logging code, building Docker images with an agent, and running training jobs.

1. Logging Code: You’re using run.log_code() to log your source code to W&B.
  2. Using an Agent to Build a Docker Image: You want to use a W&B agent to build a Docker image that includes the code you’ve logged. The agent should download the logged files and use them to build the Docker image.