How to continue a specific run after stopping?

Hello, I am new to using wandb and I cant seem to wrap my head around how to continue a run after i stop it. I tried the wandb.restore and loading the weights from the “wandb\run-20220313_020710-18ws9vua\files” , but i seem to get the following error : “wandb.errors.CommError: Could not find run” .
It seems that the run isn’t unique? Do i need to set up something in the init ? Or am I just going about it all wrong?
Thank you very much for your time !

Hi @frem,

I’m sorry you are facing this issue. Could you have a look at our Resuming Guide to see if this resolves your issue?

If not, I would really appreciate it if you could send a whole stack trace over, I’ll help you debug this further.

Thanks,
Ramit

1 Like

Hello, it seems resume is the way to go. I tried to implement it but it doesn’t seem to be working right.

this is my code, I have removed everything that has to do with the training and pre-processing, when I first start training I have resume = False, and after I interrupt the run I change it to resume = True and run it again, but a new run starts, also the checkpoints folder I created is empty so no files have been saved .

thank you very much for your time again !

def main():
  #Weight and Biases
  torch.manual_seed(0) # to fix the split result

CHECKPOINT_PATH = r'C:\Users\wandb\checkpoints'

run = wandb.init(project="my-test-project", entity="frem",save_code=True, resume= True)
  if wandb.run.resumed:
    checkpoint = torch.load(wandb.restore(CHECKPOINT_PATH))
    model.load_state_dict(checkpoint['model_state_dict'])
    optimizer.load_state_dict(checkpoint['optimizer_state_dict'])
    epoch = checkpoint['epoch']
    train_batch_loss = checkpoint['train_batch_loss']
    train_batch_acc = checkpoint['train_batch_acc']
    epoch_train_loss = checkpoint['epoch_train_loss']
    epoch_train_acc = checkpoint['epoch_train_acc']
    epoch_val_loss = checkpoint['epoch_val_loss']